Firmware: Chameleon (1.0.41) Firmware [18 APR 2016] | Gecko (20151106) Firmware [13 NOV 2015]


Post Reply 
Kodi not on 2160p
12-10-2015, 09:28 PM
Post: #1
Kodi not on 2160p
Hi there. I recently got a new (4k) tv and wanted to give the Gecko a go again, but I cannot get Kodi to run on 2160p. In the system menu the resolution is stuck (greyed out; unable to change) on 1920×1080. I have set the display size in the Gecko main menu to 2160p, but that doesn't help. Also, when I reboot my Gecko, the display is set to 1080p in the main menu. Has anyone got 4k output to work?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 02:44 AM
Post: #2
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
Forget Kodi what about the Android settings first and then the inbuilt player?

Why dont you search the forum to see if 4K TV owners have posted in the Gecko section or other forum sections? There would have been howls of derision from the peanut gallery if 4K was not working. Don't use 4K yet still awaiting the recognised 4K equivalent of the Panasonic Plasma or the earlier Kuros. Hoping OLED makes it into my budger and really praying HDR is affordable one day before I take the plunge.

If this is a Kodi only question then there's a Kodi section to use with a prefix for which player [Gecko] or [OHC] as many tips/hints are software specific and not sure that the Kodi player does 4K yet, try to make sure you are using the hiplayer first rather than DVDPlayer.

OHC > HDMI > TV (Panasonic 42G20)
Downmix stereo using standard Kodi(MC) 15.2 no hware/acc OK
Downmix stereo 1.0.40/RK Kodi(RKlib) 15.2 infrequent audio gaps hware/acc OK

No DTS downmix available for inbuilt eMC player

Gecko> HDMI > TV (Panasonic 42G20)
Downmix stereo using Gecko Kodi 15.0 OK
Downmix using inbuilt MediaCentre OK

Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 07:29 AM
Post: #3
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
What a strange answer to my question. There are not a lot of threads in the forum and I could not find anything about 4k playing. If you are saying that Kodi doesn't support 4k yet, then thanks for the answer.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 11:22 AM
Post: #4
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
Are we talking GUI resolution or movie playback resolution.
if we are talking GUI than 4K will only be sensible is the screen graphic are build in 4K so if there are no skins in your setup that are made in 4K but only ones in 1080 then that is your limit.
As for movie playback the HDMI version decides the actual limit in 4K regarding fps and colour.

Some focus on problems and faults others on solutions and success... no question who is the happy one.

Chameleon 16GB SD 32GB micro SD <-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to a A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 11:25 AM
Post: #5
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
Thanks for your reply Willem55. I am talking about movie playback. There is only one setting I can find in Kodi about resolution. Are you saying there is no setting for the resolution of the movie playback?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 02:15 PM (This post was last modified: 12-13-2015 02:16 PM by Willem55.)
Post: #6
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
the setting for video and audio playback are in the Gecko setup Kodi will not go higher than what is set there.

Some focus on problems and faults others on solutions and success... no question who is the happy one.

Chameleon 16GB SD 32GB micro SD <-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to a A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 03:26 PM
Post: #7
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
As I have written, I have set the resolution of the Gecko main menu to 2160p. The Kodi however still states 1080p.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-13-2015, 07:46 PM
Post: #8
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
and the 4K videos play in.....?

Some focus on problems and faults others on solutions and success... no question who is the happy one.

Chameleon 16GB SD 32GB micro SD <-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to a A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-14-2015, 08:23 PM
Post: #9
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
As far as I can see in the Gecko standard player in 2160p and in Kodi in 1080p.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2015, 09:25 AM
Post: #10
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
(12-14-2015 08:23 PM)Locutus75 Wrote:  As far as I can see in the Gecko standard player in 2160p and in Kodi in 1080p.

Thats right, you *must* see KODI in 1080p because the GUI is (yet) limited to 1080p.
But then you play a 2160p movie, does the TV info tells 2160p to you?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-15-2015, 07:31 PM
Post: #11
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
The Tv info shows in the Gecko player 2160p with 30Hz for all movies (regardless of the resolutions of the movies). In Kodi the TV shows 2160p with 24Hz for all movies. Is this normal?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-16-2015, 01:14 PM
Post: #12
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
(12-15-2015 07:31 PM)Locutus75 Wrote:  The Tv info shows in the Gecko player 2160p with 30Hz for all movies (regardless of the resolutions of the movies). In Kodi the TV shows 2160p with 24Hz for all movies. Is this normal?

So it looks like that the internal player couldn't autoswitch fps because most movies are 24p (23,9xx)
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-17-2015, 09:56 AM
Post: #13
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
l would not jump to any conclusions from this thread Rolleyes

OHC > HDMI > TV (Panasonic 42G20)
Downmix stereo using standard Kodi(MC) 15.2 no hware/acc OK
Downmix stereo 1.0.40/RK Kodi(RKlib) 15.2 infrequent audio gaps hware/acc OK

No DTS downmix available for inbuilt eMC player

Gecko> HDMI > TV (Panasonic 42G20)
Downmix stereo using Gecko Kodi 15.0 OK
Downmix using inbuilt MediaCentre OK

Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-18-2015, 05:05 AM
Post: #14
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
(12-15-2015 07:31 PM)Locutus75 Wrote:  The Tv info shows in the Gecko player 2160p with 30Hz for all movies (regardless of the resolutions of the movies).

If you mean playback from Media Center, you need to turn on Framerate Sync option in HiPlayer (Press Option key during playback and click SETUP to access Framerate Sync option). HiPlayer rely on this option instead of the Framerate Sync options found in device Settings.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-18-2015, 07:29 AM
Post: #15
RE: Kodi not on 2160p
Ok tnx for the info. I'm guessing that clears up this thread. I must say the Gecko Media Center works far better than Kodi.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Kodi update? grimmace92 1 911 08-12-2016 03:41 PM
Last Post: Jokerchyld
  Resume bug (and others) in Kodi Locutus75 6 2,425 12-13-2015 03:24 PM
Last Post: Locutus75
  Fails to play Dolby TrueHD tracks in both android and optimized KODI media players. mishastr 21 7,866 10-19-2015 10:11 PM
Last Post: Willem55
  No playback in Kodi with hiplayer and SMB shares chris57 11 4,824 10-14-2015 01:52 AM
Last Post: chris57

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)