Firmware: Chameleon (1.0.41) Firmware [18 APR 2016] | Gecko (20151106) Firmware [13 NOV 2015]

Soon-to-be New Gecko owner: Any install, "jukebox" and media player setup tips?
11-09-2015, 02:14 PM
Soon-to-be New Gecko owner: Any install, "jukebox" and media player setup tips?
Long-time PCH C-200 user here, and soon-to-be new Gecko user, so I have no useful, hands-on knowledge of anything Gecko. Since it will take a couple weeks before I finally receive it, I would like to prepare in advanced.

As there isn't a whole lot of traffic here on the Gecko, nor convenient newbie stickies or fleshed out wiki's, are there any tips and recommendations for setting it up?

Is there a built-in "jukebox" GUI or do I need to download and install a third party one?

If I recall correctly, I've read in some of the posts references to different "media players" being used on the Gecko: is this in referring to a "jukebox" GUI, or is it indeed a wholesale replacement of the software that reads, interprets and plays videos/music?

I will be playing mostly full-sized BD copies and ISO's, with a smattering of the typical mkv, mov, and avi videos, off a USB drive attached to the Gecko.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2015, 04:50 PM (This post was last modified: 11-09-2015 04:52 PM by Willem55.)
RE: Soon-to-be New Gecko owner: Any install, "jukebox" and media player setup tips?
the Kodi Jukebox GUI works nice... check out http://www.kodi.tv and it's WiKi for android based application.
You must use the one that comes with the Gecko as it is optimized... the generic android version they distribute has a problem with 23,976fps and also HD audio.

Some focus on problems and faults others on solutions and success... no question who is the happy one.

Chameleon 16GB SD 32GB micro SD <-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.