Firmware: Chameleon (1.0.41) Firmware [18 APR 2016] | Gecko (20151106) Firmware [13 NOV 2015]


Post Reply 
20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
10-28-2015, 08:56 AM
Post: #16
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-27-2015 09:28 PM)chris57 Wrote:  First one to say that they cannot get the RK Kodi to work. In what way? Did you try the RK Kodi on a different firmware as I think it has to be on this one or later.

Did you leave the player to load its apps after logging in with google or something? I had to leave mine for quite sometime.

It's a beta so hoping for a few more details in there.

yes is true, i cannot get run RK kodi on this new firmware.
Black screen .
after put the new firmware on same sd card "original" i needed change the resolution for 100% , It took a long time to pass the resolution and went 3 times before reaching 100%.

Once installed the new RK kody, it turns black and bounces off last about 10 to 15 minutes.

I reinstalled the new firmware and RK kodi by 2 times and so does me Sad

Devices:
TV: Samsung UE55ES8000 ; Media: Open Hour Chameleon, RaspBerryPI, PopCorn A210.

This is my repossitory for KODI / SPMC
http://reponickjack.zz.mu/rp

Firmware 1.0.27beta / SPMC 14.2
the best for me

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 09:00 AM
Post: #17
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
I get you on the screen setting for overscan as I too had initially an issue with this. However it was related to the player working on other things setting itself up and if I left the player to do its updating etc. and then tried after say 30mins of it being on that I then had no problem with setting the display to remove TV overscan.

OHC > HDMI > TV (Panasonic 42G20)
Downmix stereo using standard Kodi(MC) 15.2 no hware/acc OK
Downmix stereo 1.0.40/RK Kodi(RKlib) 15.2 infrequent audio gaps hware/acc OK

No DTS downmix available for inbuilt eMC player

Gecko> HDMI > TV (Panasonic 42G20)
Downmix stereo using Gecko Kodi 15.0 OK
Downmix using inbuilt MediaCentre OK

Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 09:21 AM
Post: #18
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 08:56 AM)nickjack-pt Wrote:  
(10-27-2015 09:28 PM)chris57 Wrote:  First one to say that they cannot get the RK Kodi to work. In what way? Did you try the RK Kodi on a different firmware as I think it has to be on this one or later.

Did you leave the player to load its apps after logging in with google or something? I had to leave mine for quite sometime.

It's a beta so hoping for a few more details in there.

yes is true, i cannot get run RK kodi on this new firmware.
Black screen .
after put the new firmware on same sd card "original" i needed change the resolution for 100% , It took a long time to pass the resolution and went 3 times before reaching 100%.

Once installed the new RK kody, it turns black and bounces off last about 10 to 15 minutes.

I reinstalled the new firmware and RK kodi by 2 times and so does me Sad

Did you reset to factory default or burn the new image from empty SD Card?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 10:29 AM
Post: #19
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 09:21 AM)openhouradmin Wrote:  
(10-28-2015 08:56 AM)nickjack-pt Wrote:  
(10-27-2015 09:28 PM)chris57 Wrote:  First one to say that they cannot get the RK Kodi to work. In what way? Did you try the RK Kodi on a different firmware as I think it has to be on this one or later.

Did you leave the player to load its apps after logging in with google or something? I had to leave mine for quite sometime.

It's a beta so hoping for a few more details in there.

yes is true, i cannot get run RK kodi on this new firmware.
Black screen .
after put the new firmware on same sd card "original" i needed change the resolution for 100% , It took a long time to pass the resolution and went 3 times before reaching 100%.

Once installed the new RK kody, it turns black and bounces off last about 10 to 15 minutes.

I reinstalled the new firmware and RK kodi by 2 times and so does me Sad

Did you reset to factory default or burn the new image from empty SD Card?

Hello

I maked download of the complete image, I formated the SD card original, and put the new firmware. (burn image to empty sd card)

After I put the SD card on Chameleon, and maked the instalation of the RK kodi.

after this I need make reset to factory default?

Devices:
TV: Samsung UE55ES8000 ; Media: Open Hour Chameleon, RaspBerryPI, PopCorn A210.

This is my repossitory for KODI / SPMC
http://reponickjack.zz.mu/rp

Firmware 1.0.27beta / SPMC 14.2
the best for me

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 10:59 AM
Post: #20
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 10:29 AM)nickjack-pt Wrote:  
(10-28-2015 09:21 AM)openhouradmin Wrote:  
(10-28-2015 08:56 AM)nickjack-pt Wrote:  
(10-27-2015 09:28 PM)chris57 Wrote:  First one to say that they cannot get the RK Kodi to work. In what way? Did you try the RK Kodi on a different firmware as I think it has to be on this one or later.

Did you leave the player to load its apps after logging in with google or something? I had to leave mine for quite sometime.

It's a beta so hoping for a few more details in there.

yes is true, i cannot get run RK kodi on this new firmware.
Black screen .
after put the new firmware on same sd card "original" i needed change the resolution for 100% , It took a long time to pass the resolution and went 3 times before reaching 100%.

Once installed the new RK kody, it turns black and bounces off last about 10 to 15 minutes.

I reinstalled the new firmware and RK kodi by 2 times and so does me Sad

Did you reset to factory default or burn the new image from empty SD Card?

Hello

I maked download of the complete image, I formated the SD card original, and put the new firmware. (burn image to empty sd card)

After I put the SD card on Chameleon, and maked the instalation of the RK kodi.

after this I need make reset to factory default?

If you burn image to empty SD Card. There is no need to reset to factory default.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 11:07 AM
Post: #21
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 08:37 AM)Willem55 Wrote:  
(10-28-2015 08:28 AM)tosh123 Wrote:  - if i start a movie with internal player and DTS-HD, no sound
- if i start after that a normal movie with DTS, stop and start the DTS-HD movie again, the movie brings normal DTS sound instead of DTS-HD
- on RK-Kodi: if i start a movie i get for 1 sec. sound, after that the sound is muted. the receiver shows the right sound protocol.

So at all: no sound in most cases.
I confirm that, but I managed to get a full movie in TrueHD without any issues.
Toggle the audio passthrough/downmix option during playback got me to retrieve DTS or AC3 multichannel passthrough sometimes.

My guess is that the Kodi UI overlay interferes even with UI audio set to off.
Anyone tested with just the two RKcodecs activated?

BTW, the first issues are with the interbnal player, not a Kodi problem. If i remember right, one of the first firmware releases with DTS-HD have worked fine for me, later i wasn't able to get DTS-HD
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 11:07 AM
Post: #22
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
I found strange was right at the very slow start.

Then when he tried to change the resolution television
from 95% to 100%
was very slow and went back to the main menu at least 3 times, when I had to go in again and increase to reach 100%.

Once installed the new RK kodi, when running
It goes black for a long time, to the point of jumping out and return to the main menu.

Soon the night will check exactly which version you have installed both the firmware as the SPMC

because I know that is not the latest versions because it happened the same to me what's happening now, so that the SPMC ran, but it was super slow.
give to have regressed to one of the previous versions.

Devices:
TV: Samsung UE55ES8000 ; Media: Open Hour Chameleon, RaspBerryPI, PopCorn A210.

This is my repossitory for KODI / SPMC
http://reponickjack.zz.mu/rp

Firmware 1.0.27beta / SPMC 14.2
the best for me

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 11:54 AM (This post was last modified: 10-30-2015 03:40 PM by afss.)
Post: #23
Best firmware so far
I have performed various test and from my perspective, this is the best firmware so far !

Great job OHC development team !

Issues found so far:
- Subtitles are not working on native player (tested external .SRT). They work in Kodi.
- Some instability with HD audio. Sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. A reboot usually fixes it.
- Edited (Dolby Atmos supported on Kodi !).
- 10bit HEVC only works on native player - I guess this is a Kodi limitation.


Thanks again.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to afss for this post
10-28-2015, 11:59 AM
Post: #24
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 11:54 AM)afss Wrote:  - 10bit HEVC only works on native player - I guess this is a Kodi limitation.

No, works fine on other Android Boxes
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to tosh123 for this post
10-28-2015, 12:04 PM
Post: #25
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 11:59 AM)tosh123 Wrote:  
(10-28-2015 11:54 AM)afss Wrote:  - 10bit HEVC only works on native player - I guess this is a Kodi limitation.

No, works fine on other Android Boxes

This is interesting, I thought it was a Kodi limitation, so I guess it's another bug to the list.

Thanks !
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 12:34 PM
Post: #26
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 11:07 AM)nickjack-pt Wrote:  I found strange was right at the very slow start.

Then when he tried to change the resolution television
from 95% to 100%
was very slow and went back to the main menu at least 3 times, when I had to go in again and increase to reach 100%.

Once installed the new RK kodi, when running
It goes black for a long time, to the point of jumping out and return to the main menu.

Soon the night will check exactly which version you have installed both the firmware as the SPMC

because I know that is not the latest versions because it happened the same to me what's happening now, so that the SPMC ran, but it was super slow.
give to have regressed to one of the previous versions.

Slow could be bad memory blocks on the SD ?

Some focus on problems and faults others on solutions and success... no question who is the happy one.

Chameleon 16GB SD 32GB micro SD <-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to a A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 01:30 PM (This post was last modified: 10-28-2015 01:30 PM by freebits.)
Post: #27
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 12:04 PM)afss Wrote:  
(10-28-2015 11:59 AM)tosh123 Wrote:  
(10-28-2015 11:54 AM)afss Wrote:  - 10bit HEVC only works on native player - I guess this is a Kodi limitation.

No, works fine on other Android Boxes

This is interesting, I thought it was a Kodi limitation, so I guess it's another bug to the list.

Thanks !

Which box do you mean?

In case of Shield TV, KODI 16 alpha just starts to support H265 based 10 bit TS files. From my understanding, it's a KODI issue.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 01:46 PM
Post: #28
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(10-28-2015 12:34 PM)Willem55 Wrote:  Slow could be bad memory blocks on the SD ?


I don`t think.

I use the same SD card, and with old version is ok, with new version not ok.

Huh

Devices:
TV: Samsung UE55ES8000 ; Media: Open Hour Chameleon, RaspBerryPI, PopCorn A210.

This is my repossitory for KODI / SPMC
http://reponickjack.zz.mu/rp

Firmware 1.0.27beta / SPMC 14.2
the best for me

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-28-2015, 07:07 PM
Post: #29
RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
here is another bug:
with resolution 1080p 60hz subtitles plays fine
with resolution 1080p 24hz subtitles plays with delay of 1-2 seconds.
but the main problem of this firmware is audio lost. u play a movie
and the audio is fine, but after a while audio lost. if u stop and try to play the movie again
the audio comes back. u can also try this if audio lost to play another movie.
most times the audio return and play fine.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-29-2015, 06:57 AM
Post: #30
Wink RE: 20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
first off - I am very grateful that this beta has been released, thanks a lot to all who worked on this.
I installed it on a new SD card, reset to factory and then installed the RK Kodi. a few brief thoughts:

TrueHD and DTSHD-Master both worked on initial tests on most files - yay!
I watched a movie in DTSHD-MA and I also encountered a lipsync issue. Framerate was 23.976 fps. after stopping and starting the file it appeared to be better.
I didn't have the audio drop out once it was connected.
I did however have no audio a couple of times when starting a file. stopping and restarting connected it again.
VC1 files seem to play for me now without frames dropping/skipping - yay!
Audio pass through did work on one FLAC file (Twister) but it didn't on another (2001 A Space Odyssey)

Twister FLAC passed through:
Quote:Audio
ID : 2
Format : FLAC
Format/Info : Free Lossless Audio Codec
Codec ID : A_FLAC
Duration : 1h 53mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Writing library : libFLAC 1.2.1 (UTC 2007-09-17)
Default : Yes
Forced : No

2001 A Space Odyssey FLAC didn't passthrough
Quote:Audio #1
ID : 2
Format : FLAC
Format/Info : Free Lossless Audio Codec
Codec ID : A_FLAC
Duration : 2h 28mn
Bit rate mode : Variable
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Title : FLAC 5.1 16-bits from PCM @ 1269 kbps
Writing library : libFLAC 1.2.1 (UTC 2007-09-17)
Language : English
Default : Yes
Forced : No

Overall I am very happy that some progress has been made. thanks a lot! Big Grin
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to canaan for this post
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 141 62,287 04-04-2017 10:38 PM
Last Post: alvoryx
  20150430 (1.0.25) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 50 37,473 06-03-2015 07:49 AM
Last Post: DarkStarXxX
  20150109 (1.0.11) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 144 123,108 02-13-2015 10:24 AM
Last Post: btezB
  20141226 (1.0.9) - RC Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 27 21,839 01-04-2015 01:59 PM
Last Post: chris57
  20141218 (1.0.8) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 97 77,284 12-31-2014 08:41 AM
Last Post: Willem55
  20141106 (1.0.6) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 80 85,097 11-23-2014 01:42 AM
Last Post: POPA110

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)