Firmware: Chameleon (1.0.41) Firmware [18 APR 2016] | Gecko (20151106) Firmware [13 NOV 2015]


Post Reply 
20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
02-01-2016, 03:39 PM (This post was last modified: 02-01-2016 03:40 PM by bejangeorge.)
Post: #76
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
4K resolution settings that are working for me :
Android settings
* resolution is set on AUTO
* framerate sync ENABLED
* color space is set on AUTO.
Kodi settings
*Playback - Adjust display refresh rate - Always
- Pause during refresh rate change - 11 seconds
- Sync playback to display - On
*Acceleration - Allow hardware acceleration MediaCodec - On
- Allow hardware acceleration RockchipCodec - On
*System - Audio output - Play GUI sounds - Never
- Enable passthrough - On
- DD/DD+/DTS/TrueHD/DTS-HD - On.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to bejangeorge for this post
02-01-2016, 05:18 PM
Post: #77
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
netflix on 1.0.40 is fullhd ( 1080p ) or not?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2016, 09:31 PM
Post: #78
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(02-01-2016 05:18 PM)pipor Wrote:  netflix on 1.0.40 is fullhd ( 1080p ) or not?
No one knows I ?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2016, 10:54 PM
Post: #79
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(02-01-2016 09:31 PM)pipor Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 05:18 PM)pipor Wrote:  netflix on 1.0.40 is fullhd ( 1080p ) or not?
No one knows I ?

maximum is 480p because no hw certification ... it never will works on OHC...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Ne...le_devices

why?

http://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theate...d-netflix/
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-02-2016, 06:54 AM (This post was last modified: 02-02-2016 07:03 AM by tosh123.)
Post: #80
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(02-01-2016 10:54 PM)locki Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 09:31 PM)pipor Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 05:18 PM)pipor Wrote:  netflix on 1.0.40 is fullhd ( 1080p ) or not?
No one knows I ?

maximum is 480p because no hw certification ... it never will works on OHC...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Ne...le_devices

why?

http://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theate...d-netflix/

Looks like other boxes have a modded Netflix until 1080p/24
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=238923

[EDIT]
file for testing seems to be here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9ExZCB...FDQUE/view
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-02-2016, 09:23 AM (This post was last modified: 02-02-2016 09:28 AM by chris57.)
Post: #81
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(02-01-2016 02:31 PM)aliengar0 Wrote:  
(01-31-2016 06:32 AM)bejangeorge Wrote:  
(01-31-2016 02:41 AM)aliengar0 Wrote:  after playing with the settings mentioned here - once disabling RKlibstagefright everything for 1080p and less worked - i never changed the output resolution in android settings and i left libstagefright and mediacodec enabled

for 4k i'm getting a green screen unless all hardware acceleration is disabled - it plays but it pegs the processor so it skips horribly and is unwatchable

any ideas for a combination for 4k to play? same result over SMB / NFS
Keep the same setting mentioned in the first post. It`s working fine for me.

I tried the settings on the first post / first page and disabling libstagefright did nothing for me - it wasn't until i disabled rklibstagefright that it worked

Don't disable rklibstagefright, disable libstagefright. You need hardware acceleration purpose built by rk for your rk box.

@geforce,
I dont think its a cpu thing as other devices including the far lower powered gecko dont have any stutter/gap issue. Not saying that it's not the way kodi is implemented though as we agree the hisilicon chips don't suffer the problem. i get not taking advantage of four cores however even a single core on the ohc is quicker than the gecko.

OHC > HDMI > TV (Panasonic 42G20)
Downmix stereo using standard Kodi(MC) 15.2 no hware/acc OK
Downmix stereo 1.0.40/RK Kodi(RKlib) 15.2 infrequent audio gaps hware/acc OK

No DTS downmix available for inbuilt eMC player

Gecko> HDMI > TV (Panasonic 42G20)
Downmix stereo using Gecko Kodi 15.0 OK
Downmix using inbuilt MediaCentre OK

Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-02-2016, 12:39 PM (This post was last modified: 02-02-2016 12:43 PM by GFORCE100.)
Post: #82
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(02-02-2016 09:23 AM)chris57 Wrote:  @geforce,
I dont think its a cpu thing as other devices including the far lower powered gecko dont have any stutter/gap issue. Not saying that it's not the way kodi is implemented though as we agree the hisilicon chips don't suffer the problem. i get not taking advantage of four cores however even a single core on the ohc is quicker than the gecko.

Well if my memory serves me correctly I also suggested it could have something to do with thread sync/timing by either: a) Kodi or b) Android 4.4.2. With that said there's always the possibility of it having something to do with: c) the PowerVR GPU drivers or d) low-level RK SoC microcode errata. To top off the list there will always e) remain the chance it's still got something to do with custom Kodi RK specific codecs (it's not normal for people to have to disable/enable various settings to find workarounds when these codecs are supposed to always be enabled, as such I still think these codecs are buggy to some degree).

Sadly we won't know until developers find the actual culprit. Hopefully that happens, though if many end-users start posting overly enthusiastic posts about how happy they are with the latest 1.40 firmware then Cloud Media may choose to halt debugging to save money Smile

Time will tell, as always.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users say Thank You to GFORCE100 for this post
02-03-2016, 06:11 PM
Post: #83
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
Moved the Lollipop discussion here http://forum.openhourlab.com/showthread.php?tid=177

back on topic please

Some focus on problems and faults others on solutions and success... no question who is the happy one.

Chameleon 16GB SD 32GB micro SD <-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to a A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-06-2016, 10:49 AM
Post: #84
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
Anyone had problems when playing 3D mkv files in Kodi ? The image is correct but the subtitled is separeted in two parts , left and right. ( on a side by side 3D movie ). On previous firmware worked fine.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-06-2016, 05:08 PM
Post: #85
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(02-02-2016 06:54 AM)tosh123 Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 10:54 PM)locki Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 09:31 PM)pipor Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 05:18 PM)pipor Wrote:  netflix on 1.0.40 is fullhd ( 1080p ) or not?
No one knows I ?

maximum is 480p because no hw certification ... it never will works on OHC...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Ne...le_devices

why?

http://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theate...d-netflix/

Looks like other boxes have a modded Netflix until 1080p/24
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=238923

[EDIT]
file for testing seems to be here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9ExZCB...FDQUE/view

tried , does not work , do not install
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-06-2016, 09:57 PM
Post: #86
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
WeTek Core have certification but OHC doesn't have Smile
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2016, 07:03 AM
Post: #87
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
(02-06-2016 05:08 PM)pipor Wrote:  
(02-02-2016 06:54 AM)tosh123 Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 10:54 PM)locki Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 09:31 PM)pipor Wrote:  
(02-01-2016 05:18 PM)pipor Wrote:  netflix on 1.0.40 is fullhd ( 1080p ) or not?
No one knows I ?

maximum is 480p because no hw certification ... it never will works on OHC...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Ne...le_devices

why?

http://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theate...d-netflix/

Looks like other boxes have a modded Netflix until 1080p/24
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=238923

[EDIT]
file for testing seems to be here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9ExZCB...FDQUE/view

tried , does not work , do not install

seems its for Lollipop not Kitkat.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2016, 03:10 PM
Post: #88
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
works okish .

sometimes no audio when i start a movie and need to pause and stop and start the movie again.

but at least stable audio now once it starts ok, and i can pause or fast forward and etc without audio starting drop out and getting messed up
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2016, 06:39 PM
Post: #89
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
Hello fellow Chameleon owners,

I’ve installed the latest beta firmware and the custom Kodi, using the recommended settings.

Unfortunately, I only get 2 channel audio when I play movies and cannot change audio streams (greyed-out field) although multiple are available.

Multi-channel audio still works with the default player (after switching audio settings back and forth during playback), but no go with Kodi or eHomeMedia player.

Does anyone have the same problem or any idea how to access multiple audio streams?

Thx,

W.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-14-2016, 09:38 AM
Post: #90
RE: 20160121 (1.0.40) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware
Check your audio setting in Kodi and set passthrough for your AVR.

Some focus on problems and faults others on solutions and success... no question who is the happy one.

Chameleon 16GB SD 32GB micro SD <-->HDMIv1.3<-->Onkyo TX-NR1010<-->HDMIv1.3<-->Panasonic TX-P46S10 + 6 Bowers & Wilkins speakers.
10 NTFS 2TB USB drives on 3 hubs attached to a A400, 2 Seagate blackarmour NAS 3TB, 2 Seagate Central NAS 4TB.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  20151023 (1.0.33) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 99 69,080 01-20-2016 11:12 PM
Last Post: GFORCE100
  20150430 (1.0.25) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 50 37,307 06-03-2015 07:49 AM
Last Post: DarkStarXxX
  20150109 (1.0.11) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 144 122,504 02-13-2015 10:24 AM
Last Post: btezB
  20141226 (1.0.9) - RC Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 27 21,761 01-04-2015 01:59 PM
Last Post: chris57
  20141218 (1.0.8) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 97 76,885 12-31-2014 08:41 AM
Last Post: Willem55
  20141106 (1.0.6) - Beta Open Hour Chameleon Android Firmware openhouradmin 80 84,753 11-23-2014 01:42 AM
Last Post: POPA110

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)